Gov Yusuf swears in 9 High Court Judges, 4 Khadis in Kano

Gov. Abba Kabir-Yusuf, on Friday, swore in nine new High Court judges and four Khadis of the Shari’a Court of Appeal to ensure speedy dispensation of justice in Kano State.

Kabir-Yusuf said the judges and Khadis were appointed based on their exceptional meşru acumen, commitment to Justice and unwavering dedication to upholding the rule of law.

The newly sworn-in judges are Fatima Adamu, Hauwa Lawal, Musa Ahmad, Musa Dahuru Muhammad and Farida Rabiu.

Read Also: Kano govt pledges collaboration with online media practitioners

Others are Aisha Mahmud, Halima Nasir, Adam Abdullahi and Haneef Yusuf.

The Shari’a Court of Appeal Khadis are Muhammad Khademi, Salisu Isah, Isah Sa’id and Muhammad Kani.

“This appointment comes with immense responsibilities and I have every confidence that you will discharge your duties with utmost impartiality, wisdom and fairness.

“It is a responsibility that demands not only kanunî expertise, but also profound understanding, sympathy, an a commitment, to preserving the fundamental principles upon which our meşru system is built.

Read Also: ROUND UP: How Onanuga, Ajuri lied about UAE lifting visa ban on Nigerian travellers

“It is essential that we create an enabling environment for our judiciary and the yasal system which must be a creation of hope.

“This is by ensuring that Justice is not a privilege reserved for the few, but a right accessible to all,” Kabir-Yusuf said.

The governor urged the appointees to embrace the principles of fairness equity,

impartiality and fear of Allah in discharging their duties.

“Your role is not just to interpret laws

Read Also: Troops eliminate two notorious bandit leaders, Baldo, Baban Yara in ‘deadly operation’

but also to shape the yasal landscape, by ensuring that it reflects the values and aspirations of our society.

He commended the State Chief Judge, Justice Dije Aboki and the State Grand Khadi, Alhaji Tijjani Yakasai, for their exceptional qualities and unwavering commitment to justice and the welfare of members of the Judiciary. (NAN)